Seeing Red

Oil on canvas board: 8 x 6 ins

I love the challenge of a dramatic pose like this. The red lines were a way of redefining and checking my drawing. The use of a strong Cadmium red was an experiment, partly to make the marks stand out against the Umber so I could see the alterations clearly but also to increase the drama and energy of the image.

I made some other studies and colour notes of this pose so I may paint a larger, more finished painting from these at some point…

One thought on “Seeing Red

Leave a Reply

